Program Areas‎ > ‎

Special Education

Advocate, Believe, Succeed

Welcome to Special Education at Hayden

The Special Education Department provides a variety of programs to assist students identified as exceptional by an IPRC and to those students who have needs beyond those that are met by regular classroom instruction.  Programs and services are provided through both individual and group approaches. Our staff focuses on assessment, remedial work, and development of learning skills. 

In addition, a learning strategies course (offered to students in grades 9-12), is available through referrals by the Hayden School Resource Team and/or recommendations from feeder school staff.



Staff:

Tara McMinn - Program Lead of Special Education mcminnt@hdsb.ca
Jennifer Hernandez - Special Education Resource Teacher - hernandezj@hdsb.ca
Mitchell Kleer - Special Education Resource Teacher  kleerm@hdsb.ca
Mark Mamo  Special Education Resource Teacher mamom@hdsb.ca
Kelly Trdin- Special Education Resource Teacher  trdink@hdsb.ca
Kathryn Wheeldon - Special Education Resource Teacher wheeldonk@hdsb.ca
Melissa Wilson - Special Education Resource Teacher wilsonmel@hdsb.ca

Our Awesome Educational Assistant:
Simmi Kamboe-  kamboes@hdsb.ca

Transition information for students with LD/Mental Health interested in attending POST-SECONDARY colleges or universities!


Grade 8 Information Evening Special Education Presentation

 Grade 9 & 10
Learning Strategies
  GLE1O1/GLE2O1/GLS1O1
  Grade 11 & 12
Learning Strategies
GLE3O1/GLE4O1/GLS4O1
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1ebOl7sc7_rp89L1sAYU6WYcs18KXa1sW

https://sites.google.com/a/hdsb.ca/dfh-gle3o1/