Program Areas‎ > ‎

Special Education

Advocate, Believe, Succeed

Welcome to Special Education at Hayden

The Special Education Department provides a variety of programs to assist students identified as exceptional by an IPRC and to those students who have needs beyond those that are met by regular classroom instruction.  Programs and services are provided through both individual and group approaches. Our staff focuses on assessment, remedial work, and development of learning skills. 

In addition, a learning strategies course (offered to students in grades 9-12), is available through referrals by the Hayden School Resource Team and/or recommendations from feeder school staff.



Staff:

Tara McMinn - Program Lead of Special Education mcminnt@hdsb.ca
Tarah Campbell - Special Education Resource Teacher campbellt@hdsb.ca
Mitchell Kleer - Special Education Resource Teacher  kleerm@hdsb.ca
Kelly Leier - Special Education Resource Teacher  leierk@hdsb.ca
Mark Mamo  Special Education Resource Teacher mamom@hdsb.ca
Michelle Simpson - Special Education Resource Teacher simpsonm@hdsb.ca
Kathryn Wheeldon - Special Education Resource Teacher wheeldonk@hdsb.ca

Our Awesome Educational Assistant:
Simmi Kamboe-  kamboes@hdsb.ca

Transition information for students with LD/Mental Health interested in attending POST-SECONDARY colleges or universities!

 Grade 9 
Learning Strategies
  GLE1O1/GLS1O1
  Grade 10, 11 and 12
Learning Strategies
GLES2O1/GLES3O1/GLES4O1
https://sites.google.com/a/hdsb.ca/dfh-gle1o1/

https://sites.google.com/a/hdsb.ca/dfh-gle3o1/